VPNRank.io

Best VPN Guides & Comparisons

Every guide on vpnrank.io, organized by what you need a VPN for. We independently test 30+ VPN services for speed, privacy, and reliability — these 130 guides put that testing to work for your exact use case.

Price and limits analysis by Martín Rossi, Editor-in-Chief & Lead VPN Tester · Updated 4 September 2026

What a list of VPN guides can and cannot settle for you

These guides rank providers for particular jobs. That ranking is only half of a buying decision — the other half is the two things a comparison table almost never shows: what the price will actually be on the day you click, and which limits change depending on the plan you pick. Both are measurable, so this page measures them.

A ranking answers 'which is best at this', not 'what will this cost me'

Every guide linked further down this page answers a narrow question: which provider holds up best for one country, one device, one streaming service or one sport. That is a question about capability, and it is answerable — a provider either reaches a given platform reliably or it does not, either offers apps for a given device or it does not.

The question a ranking cannot answer is what you will pay. The per-month figure printed next to a VPN on any comparison site — including this one — is an introductory rate on a multi-year plan, quoted in whatever currency the storefront decided to show you, and valid for as long as the provider chooses to run that offer. It is a snapshot of a page, and pages change.

That is not a criticism of the providers. Running promotions is ordinary retail. But it does mean a comparison table has a shelf life measured in days, and the honest thing for a site that publishes such tables is to say how quickly the numbers move. We capture each provider's checkout page every day, so we can say it with evidence rather than in the abstract.

Practical rule:Treat the per-month price in any VPN comparison — ours included — as the price on the day that table was built, not as the price of the product. Check the provider's own checkout before you judge the deal, and check what the plan renews at before you judge the saving.

On 6 September 2026, 6 of the 7 providers we track were asking more than their own best price

Our price tracker fetches each provider's public checkout page once a day and stores what it says. Between 10 July 2026 and 6 September 2026 that produced 51 snapshots. Reading the advertised entry price on each provider's tracked long-term plan out of those captures gives a plain answer to a question buyers actually ask: is today a good day to buy?

Bar chart showing how far each tracked VPN provider's advertised entry price on 6 September 2026 sat above the cheapest price captured from the same checkout page since 10 July 2026.
How far each provider's latest advertised entry price sat above its own cheapest captured price. Source: vpnrank.io daily checkout captures, 10 July 2026–6 September 2026.

The answer, on the day of the latest capture, was mostly no. Six of the seven providers whose checkout we can parse were quoting more than the cheapest figure we had recorded from that same page, by margins from roughly nine per cent to just under forty. One provider had quoted the same price on every single day we captured it.

ProviderCheapest capturedLatest capturedLatest vs cheapestDays at the cheapest priceWhat this doesn't automatically prove
CyberGhost€1.59€2.19+37.7%6 of 48That the lower price existed on those days — not that it returns on any schedule.
Proton VPN€2.99€3.49+16.7%21 of 47That the lower price existed on those days — not that it returns on any schedule.
IPVanish$2.19$2.49+13.7%24 of 48That the lower price existed on those days — not that it returns on any schedule.
NordVPN€3.49€3.89+11.5%14 of 48That the lower price existed on those days — not that it returns on any schedule.
ExpressVPN€2.29€2.49+8.7%6 of 47That the lower price existed on those days — not that it returns on any schedule.
Surfshark€2.29€2.49+8.7%7 of 48That the lower price existed on those days — not that it returns on any schedule.
Private Internet Access€1.79€1.79no change42 of 42That this checkout held one price — not that no cheaper route to it exists.
Advertised per-month entry price on each provider's tracked long-term plan, from vpnrank.io daily checkout captures. Storefront currency as shown; figures are never compared across currencies, and a failed capture is not counted as a price change. Verified 6 September 2026.

Two caveats belong with that table, and they matter more than the headline. The first is that a percentage gap between a provider's own best and latest price says nothing about whether that provider is expensive relative to another — these are seven separate storefronts in two currencies, and the table deliberately does not rank them against each other. The second is that the number of captured days differs by provider, because extraction began at different dates and because a provider that rewords its checkout drops out of the series until the pattern is updated. A provider with fewer captured days is thinly measured, not stable.

💡 The practical read: the spread between a provider's cheapest and dearest day is usually smaller than the gap between its introductory price and its renewal price. If you are optimising, optimise the renewal — see our VPN price index for the full intro-versus-renewal picture, refreshed from the same daily captures.

Device limits and refund windows are where the plan you pick quietly changes the deal

The second thing a comparison table flattens is that some headline figures are not single numbers at all. A provider advertises a money-back guarantee; the guarantee turns out to be one length on the annual plan and a shorter one on the monthly plan. A provider advertises a device allowance; the allowance turns out to rise with the tier you buy. Neither is hidden — both are printed on the provider's own checkout page — but a table with one cell per provider cannot show it.

Table of nine VPN providers showing simultaneous device allowances and money-back windows as stated on each provider's own checkout page, with conditional figures highlighted in amber.
Device allowances and refund windows read out of each provider's own checkout page. Amber marks a figure that changes with the plan or tier bought. Verified 6 September 2026.

Reading the captured checkout text for all nine providers we cover gives the picture below. Three of the nine state more than one refund window depending on the plan. Two state more than one device allowance depending on the tier. One does not state a device figure on its checkout page at all — which we publish as not stated, because the alternative is to guess.

ProviderSimultaneous devicesMoney-back windowCondition attachedWhat this doesn't automatically prove
Private Internet AccessUnlimited30 daysNew subscribers only; purchases made through a third-party app store follow that store's refund termsThat a refund is automatic — the provider states a request is required.
SurfsharkUnlimited30 daysCounted from sign-upThat unlimited devices means unlimited simultaneous speed.
IPVanishUnlimited30 daysCounted from purchaseThat unlimited devices means unlimited simultaneous speed.
NordVPN1030 daysStated on all plansThat the limit counts devices rather than active connections.
PureVPN1031 daysA paid multi-login add-on raises the device limitThat the add-on is included in the advertised price.
ExpressVPN10, 12 or 14 by tier30 daysDevice limit rises with the plan tier; the guarantee is stated for new usersThat the entry-level plan carries the highest advertised device figure.
Proton VPN10 on the paid plan, 1 on the free plan30 daysThe money-back window applies to the paid plan; the free plan is one deviceThat the free tier is a smaller version of the paid one.
CyberGhost745 or 14 days45 days on the 2-year and 6-month plans; 14 days on the 1-month planThat the headline 45-day figure applies to the plan you are looking at.
TotalVPNNot stated at checkout30 or 14 days30 days on annual and biannual plans, 14 on monthly and quarterly; the provider states the subscription must be terminated before a refund request is eligibleThat cancelling auto-renewal is the same action as requesting a refund — the provider states it is not.
Read from each provider's public checkout page as captured on 6 September 2026; the PureVPN and TotalVPN device figures were confirmed against their pricing pages on 4 September 2026. Figures a provider does not state are published as not stated. Verified September 2026.

None of this makes any provider on the list a bad choice, and the conditions are not buried — they sit next to the price on the page where you pay. The point is narrower: if you are choosing between two providers on the strength of a refund window, check which plan that window attaches to before you decide, because on three of nine it is not the plan the headline implies.

⚠️ The device figure is the one most often misread. "Unlimited devices" is a licence term, not a performance promise — it says the account will not refuse a tenth connection, not that ten simultaneous streams will run at full speed on one home connection.

Four questions decide which of these guides you actually need

The list below is long because the right answer genuinely differs by use case. Working out which guide applies to you is usually a matter of four questions, in this order:

  • Is there one thing you need it to reach? If you are buying a VPN to watch one specific service or one specific competition, that requirement dominates everything else — start from the relevant streaming or sport guide rather than a general ranking, because a provider that is excellent overall can still be unreliable against one platform.
  • Where will you be, and for how long? A VPN for a two-week trip and a VPN for living somewhere with heavy network filtering are different products with different failure modes. The country guides cover the second case; see also our measured censorship index for which platforms are actually blocked where.
  • What will it run on? App availability is the most common unpleasant surprise. A router, a smart TV, a games console or a work laptop with locked-down software each rule out different providers, and the device guides exist because that constraint decides the shortlist before price does.
  • How many people are on the account? This is where the device table above becomes the deciding factor rather than a footnote. A household sharing one subscription across phones, laptops and a TV is the case where a seven-device limit and an unlimited one stop being equivalent.

If none of the four narrows it down, the honest answer is that the choice matters less than the buying terms — at which point the price and refund tables above are the more useful pages to read, and the money-back window is your real risk control. You can also work through it interactively with our VPN quiz, or read the per-provider write-ups in reviews.

For the underlying method — how providers are scored, what is measured and what is not — see how we test. For current offers with the renewal figure shown next to the introductory one, see VPN deals. For the free options and the limits that come with them, see free VPN.

Why an affiliate site publishes its own uncomfortable pricing data

vpnrank.io earns commission when a reader buys a subscription through one of our links. That is worth stating plainly on a page like this one, because the two tables above cut against the usual incentive: a site paid on conversions has every reason to imply that today's price is a rare offer and no reason at all to publish that six of seven providers were asking above their own best price on the day of measurement.

We publish it because the alternative is worse. A comparison site whose pricing claims cannot be checked is asking to be taken on trust, and trust is exactly what a reader has no reason to extend to a page that earns money from the click. Data that can be re-derived from a stated source is a better argument than a promise of independence — and the daily captures behind this page are the same ones that feed our price index, so any figure here can be checked against the next day's snapshot.

It also sets the limit of what this page claims. The captures record what each checkout page said on a given day. They do not record what any individual reader was shown — storefronts localise by country and currency, and a price captured from one location is not a promise about another. Where a provider states a figure, we publish the figure; where it does not, we say so.

Every guide, grouped by what you need

130 guides across 7 categories. Each one answers a single question — one service, one country, one device — rather than repeating a general ranking.

By Streaming Service

By Sport & League

For Travel

By Country

By Device & Platform

Free & Budget

By Use Case